{17} Crochet Tips for Beginners Part 2

So here is the second part of the post I made the other day. Here’s a link in case you missed it. I’ll just start in with the list then.

  1. Break it down. If a stitch seems to complex and you feel like you can’t do it, take a moment to look at it. If you break it down, all crochet is is pulling loops through other loops. So really the stitch you’re fearing is generally made up of things you already know how to do. Put them all together and you have something more complex. Do it in steps, and check to see if you did it right. Don’t fear the complexity because it’s really simply, just tedious. It took me so long to figure that out! I cried many times trying to learn how to do certain stitches until I realized I had all the skills I already needed.
  2. Free Patterns. There are so very many free patterns out there that sometimes it gets a little overwhelming. Though Ravelry has this great feature where you can “hook it” on a pattern’s page and it goes in a list of “projects”. I really love this feature. It keeps them organized so you can go back to it and find it quickly when you’re ready. The favorites is also great because you can add your own tags to search with within your favorites page. I like to use this for Christmas time by labeling things by people’s names so I can compile the list of projects I think would make good gifts for those people. A lot of patterns are written by other people and some people make up terms. This is frustrating at times, though if they made one up they often times have a description on how to do it.
  3. Keep it simple. There is no need to get too frustrated when learning. Don’t jump in and try to do a project that is really advanced after making your first item. Try to complete as many “Easy” and “Beginner” patterns, and stitch tutorials before trying something too advanced. I made this mistake and put my hook down for almost six months. I tried to make this really complex sweater after I had made three hats total in my whole crochet journey at that point. It made me want to pull my hair out.
  4. Be proud! (This is more of a social tip than crochet) When you finish a pattern be proud, though keep in mind that your non-crafting friends probably don’t want to hear all about the flaws and the process. They’ll look at it and say “oh that’s awesome!” Try to not be offended when they don’t respond how you expect. I got so many mixed responses from my family and friends that it was discouraging and uplifting all at the same time.
  5. Don’t give up too easily. If you really enjoy it and hit a bump, push to get over it. Take a break if you have to. There are so many patterns in this world that if you truly love the craft, but have a huge mistake project don’t let it get you down. (I know easier said than done.) Though, you will find a pattern that will pull you out of the hole you fell into if you keep looking.

I hope these help. This is all I have for now, though who knows maybe down the line there will be a part three. Thank you all for reading! Don’t forget to like and comment.

2 thoughts on “{17} Crochet Tips for Beginners Part 2

Leave a Reply

